2015 PPF Student Scholarship Applications Due April 30, 2015

2015 Scholarship Program Announced

Once again, as a way of nurturing future theater artists and recognizing the contribution graduating high school seniors have made to the arts community in our region, PPF has established a scholarship program that provides scholarships to college-bound students from area high schools. Scholarships are limited each year.

This year, in partnership with the Arts Council of Fairfax County, we anticipate awarding three scholarships, each of $1500, to 2015 graduating seniors with a demonstrated commitment to theater arts who have been accepted to a U.S. accredited college or university or conservatory program with an intent to further contribute to theater arts.

Eligible graduating seniors must (1) reside within the school boundaries of Annandale, Fairfax, Falls Church, George Mason, J.E.B. Stuart, Marshall, Woodson or Yorktown high schools OR (2) have been a member of PPF for at least one year. It is not required that applicants to be committed to a theater arts major in college, only that they plan on continuing their involvement and contribution to theater arts in the future.

The Scholarship Application Form (in Word and in pdf format) is now available.

Applications must be completed and emailed to providenceplayers@cox.net no later than April 30, 2015.

Supplementary materials, including letters of recommendation, listed on the application form must be mailed to PPF at the address shown on the application.

PPF must receive these supplementary materials by April 30, 2015.

Applications will be reviewed by a committee appointed by PPF.  The committee will consist of community representatives, including members of the arts community.  The criteria for the awards shall be as follows:

  • 40% based on the applicant’s past involvement in theater arts and contributions made to theater arts;
  • 10% based on the applicant’s contribution to Providence Players of Fairfax (if any); and
  • 50% based on the applicant’s potential to further contribute to theater arts.

Decisions on the scholarship awards will be announced by June 1, 2015