Playing Juliet and Casting Othello

Playing Juliet and Casting Othello
By Caleen Sinnette Jennings
Directed by Eleanore Tapscott

The New Vistas Theatre Company sets out to put on Romeo and Juliet and Othello using a multi-racial cast. Wendy, the determined white director, has cast her long-time black friend, Georgia, in the role of Juliet. Tempers flare and friendships are strained when Jimmy, Georgia’s maintenance-man boyfriend, tries to prevent her from playing the role.  In a later production of Othello, Jimmy, now married to the pregnant Georgia, has grown accustomed to being a stand-in for the lead in rehearsals. Despite his lack of training, Wendy thinks Jimmy could perform the role of Othello in front of an audience.  The atmosphere is charged as Georgia vigorously opposes this casting. In these companion one-acts, issues of race, class, gender, politics and nontraditional casting emerge as the Bard brings out surprising fears, animosities, love and laughter in this company of players.

Performance Dates and Times
Thursday, Friday and Saturday 7:30 p.m.
June 10 – 25
Saturday & Sunday Matinees 2:00 p.m.
June 12 & 19

Performance Dates Tickets
Friday June 10, 2022 - 07:30 PM EST
Saturday June 11, 2022 - 07:30 PM EST
Sunday June 12, 2022 - 02:00 PM EST
Thursday June 16, 2022 - 07:30 PM EST
Friday June 17, 2022 - 07:30 PM EST
Saturday June 18, 2022 - 07:30 PM EST
Sunday June 19, 2022 - 02:00 PM EST
Thursday June 23, 2022 - 07:30 PM EST Buy Tickets
Friday June 24, 2022 - 07:30 PM EST Buy Tickets
Saturday June 25, 2022 - 07:30 PM EST Buy Tickets

The New Vistas cast and crew prepare for upcoming productions, a comedy the Bard never imagined!  All photos by Chip Gertzog.